Sam Hutchings Pianist Prize

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Sam-Hutchings-at-piano-1024x683.jpg

Each year the Sam Hutching Pianist Prize is awarded to an outstanding accompanist to work with Malcolm Martineau and alongside our experienced staff, playing for classes and rehearsals as required.

In 2019, the Sam Hutchings Pianist Prize recipients will be Marina Staneva, currently studying at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama and American-born Kunal Lahiry studying in Berlin.

Current recipients of the prize:

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Marina-Staneva-new-684x1024.jpg

Bulgarian pianist Marina Staneva holds Masters and Advanced Diploma degrees with Distinction from the Guildhall School of Music and Drama under the guidance of Philip Jenkins and Pamela Lidiard.

Marina is a Britten-Pears Young Artist 2018 and recently has performed in the Barbican Hall, Wigmore Hall with the Prince Consort, Milton Court and The Inner Temple in London. She has participated in masterclasses and worked with the renowned pianists Alisdair Hogarth, Malcolm Martineau, Roger Vignoles, Pavel Gililov, Graham Johnson, Anne Queffelec, Julius Drake, Milena Mollova and Svetozar Ivanov and performs regularly in the UK and Europe both as a soloist and as a collaborative pianist.

In 2017 she performed in “The First Global Granados Marathon” broadcast live and has recorded for Classic FM. Currently Marina is an Artist Fellow at the Guildhall. Her studies have been generously supported by the Guildhall Trust. 

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Kunal-Lahiry.jpg

The young American Kunal Lahiry is currently on the way to becoming one of the most promising and sought after pianists. Lahiry made his orchestral debut at the age of 17 with the Gainesville Symphony Orchestra as the first prize winner of the Kiwanis Society scholarship. Since then, he has won top prizes at several international competitions, such as the Atlanta Music Club, New Orleans Piano Institute, Brevard Music Center Piano Competition, Concours “Les Saisons de la Voix”, and the XXVI Concours de Flame in Paris. Lahiry is a Britten-Pears Young Artist, Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now Artist, Center for Musical Excellence (CME) Young Artist, ENOA Artist, Leeds Lieder Young Artist, and Samling Young Artist. He has been invited to perform in masterclasses with renowned artists like Renée Fleming, Graham Johnson, Sir Thomas Allen, Malcolm Martineau, Murray Perahia, André Laplante, Helmut Deutsch, Brian Zeger, and Anne le Bozec.

Kunal Lahiry’s special affinity towards song interpretation has led to concerts at the Britten Studio, l’Église de Noisay, “Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach” Konzerthalle (Frankfurt am Oder), Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, Académie Musicale de Villecroze, Teatr Wielki, Carnegie Hall, Petit Palais, Salon Razumovsky, La Monnaie, Leipziger Oper, l’Église Américaine de Paris, Musée des Archives Nationales, Musée d’Orsay, Royaumont Abbey, Stift Altenburg, Schloss Kirchberg, Konzerthaus ‘Neue Welt’ (Zwickau), the Mendelssohn Remise, and in the Lunchkonzert series of the Berliner Philharmonie. Regarded as a “sensitive and inspiring” collaborator, he was featured in Clemens Goldberg’s lecture-performance series ‘Slow Listening’, on the radio program ‘Kulturradio RBB’ in Berlin, and has appeared several times in concert for the Daniel Barenboim Excellence Foundation. In 2018, Lahiry, along with mezzo-soprano Marielou Jacquard, was selected as one of four duos to create the first academy of melody and lieder at the Royaumont Abbey and Musée D’Orsay, a year-long residency culminating in a live cd recording with B Records as well as a concert tour at Wigmore Hall and other international venues. His former teachers include Walter Hautzig, Alan Chow, Kyoko Hashimoto, and Fabio Bidini.  Lahiry recently completed his Master’s in song accompaniment under the tutelege of Wolfram Rieger at the Hochschule für Musik “Hanns Eisler” in Berlin.

Previous recipients of the prize:

2018 Ewan Gilford

2017 Keval Shah

2016 Natalie Burch/Conal Bembridge-Sayers (joint)

2015 John Cuthbert

2014 Dearbhla Collins

2013 Chris Harding/Geoffrey Tanti (joint)

Scroll Up